Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Powering the MiniE and stepper motor
Hello,
I am trying to get the hardware end of the miniE V.1 operational, but I've ran into a snag...
I'm not entirely sure how to power the easy driver/stepper motor. I'm using a 12V 1.25A DC power supply. If I plug it into the arduino DC jack should it power the entire project or just the arduino? Right now it just powers the ardunio with now movement from the stepper motor.
I'll include some photos
This is my first attempt at a real electronics project so if anybody see errors please let me know Smile

Thanks!

[Image: photo%20(1).JPG]

[Image: photo%20(2).JPG]

[Image: photo.JPG]
Wow...huge pictures!

Well, Ardino CAN power the stepper motor all right but I'm not sure this is the best ideea.
Steppers eat much more that Arduino's regulator can provide and it has nothing to do with how bit your Arduino power supply is.

Currently pin M+ from EasyDriver is hooked to the Vin of Arduino and this is the reason why your stepper motor can be operated.
Otherwise, as mentioned in the EasyDriver documentation, it can handle voltages from 7 to 30V or so...
That is, two power supplies: one for Arduino and the "brain" stuff and another power supply for the "muscle" (separatelly connected to M+ of the driver).

But, I'm affraid there's some more to study on that.
If you have the time...you might even like it :-)

https://www.sparkfun.com/tutorials/400

https://www.sparkfun.com/products/10267
(04-12-2013, 11:09 PM)keith.h Wrote: Hello,
I am trying to get the hardware end of the miniE V.1 operational, but I've ran into a snag...

Hello,

the pictures show no obvious errors - as long as you followed the original "stacking architecture" of the different boards. There are some things I would test in the forst place in your situation:

1. Is the power supply working at all?
  2. Are the power rails (+5, Vin) shorted with Ground (you need to have a multimeter to test this)?